Does nobody answer the phone anymore?

July 23, 2014

Rant mode ON

At 8:30 on a Wednesday morning in late July I have just run through a series of five phone calls without a human response. I’m looking for 100 bd feet of oak to redo the deck of my equipment trailer. George, my usual supplier, seems to have taken off on another holiday with his wife. Harvey, a new potential supplier in Sydenham, didn’t pick up. Two others where I’m a regular customer also didn’t answer.

My wife suggested that everybody’s out, at work. I find this a bit hard to believe that that many kitchens would be vacant at 8:30 a.m.

I don’t think this is a problem of call display, as I believe I’m on good terms with all of these local mill owners. Even my pal Les didn’t answer my call-back after an urgent email request for some wood.

I guess the days of the tyranny of the ringing phone have gone.

Rant mode OFF

The irony of it is that Harvey (see above) sent me an exasperated email claiming that he had tried to call me at 3:00 today but I didn’t pick up. At least I sent him an apology: I couldn’t hear my cell over the tractor’s engine.

One Response to “Does nobody answer the phone anymore?”

  1. Keith Cauwenberghs Says:

    There probably all on their Cell Phones instead of the “land lines”. Awww how technology has changed us!


Leave a Reply

